EOM&M Division

E04 - Central Expressway Project - Section II (CEP II)

  • Gateway to the MiracleThe Central Expressway - Section II spans 40.91 km in distance, has five interchanges at Mirigama, Nakalagamuwa, Dambokka, Kurunegala and Yaggapitiya.
  • 2
  • 3

With an end to internal conflicts in the Northern and Eastern parts of Sri Lanka, the government recognized the importance of construction of an expressway bridging Northern and southern parts of the country. At the initial stage, Government of Sri Lanka (GOSL) decided to construct the Northern Expressway from Colombo to Dambulla including an expressway link to Kandy as a part of the proposed Expressway Network of Sri Lanka.

The Central expressway section-11 is a combination of selected segments of previously proposed two Expressways. The segment from Kadawata to Gampaha remains the same alignment on previously proposed Colombo - Kandy Alternate Highway (CKAH) trace (2001 - 2011) and beyond Gampaha, the trace is the Northern Expressway trace (2011 - 2014) up to Dambulla and Kandy (Galagedara). After that GOSL decided to change the starting point of the NEP and also to implement with the assistance of Donor Agencies. Then it was decided to change project name as Central Expressway in 2015.

With this view, as per directions of GOSL, the Consultant, University of Moratuwa, Sri Lankacarried out a feasibility study in Amalgamation of two feasibility studies (CKAH&NEP) is in progress. Accordingly, this expressway was proposed to commence from Kadawatha on Colombo Outer Circular Highway (E002) and ends at Dambulla on Ambepussa - Kurunagala - Trincomalee Road (A006 Road); with an expressway link to Kandy which commences from Potuhera and ends at Galageda on Katugastota - Kurunagala - Puttalam Road (A010). The expressway passes through the main towns such as Gampaha, Mirigama, Nakalagamuwa, Potuhera, Kurunagala, Ridigama,Melsiripura and Galewela; and the Kandy Link passes through Rambukkana and Naranwala.

The Phase-II of the Central Expressway Project, Mirigama-Kurunegala section was opened to the public on 15th January 2022, and it spans 40.91 km in distance, has five interchanges at Mirigama, Nakalagamuwa, Dambokka, Kurunegala and Yaggapitiya.

Benefits of Outer Circular Highway

  • Development of the Northern part of the country including the North - Western Province, the Northern - Central Province, the Central Province, the Northern Province and the Eastern Province;
  • Improvement of the mobility between Northern and Southern parts of the country;
  • As a solution for the traffic congestion on Colombo - Kandy Road (A001 Road) and Ambepussa - Kurunagala - Trincomalee Road (A006 Road) which cannot be improved their alignment to suit the travel speed required for the future traffic conditions;
  • Improvement of the efficiency of the transport system;
  • Improvement of the quality of the transport system including the safe environment;
  • Enhancement of the investment opportunities;
  • Enhancement of riding quality through proper designing of the road environment;
  • Reduction of air pollution due to traffic congestion and unnecessary combustion of fuel;
  • Elimination of restrictions to travel speed through a limited access expressway;
  • Improvement of inter provincial connectivity. This expressway directly connects with Colombo Outer Circular Highway (E002), Colombo - Katunayaka Expressway (E003), Colombo - Puttalam Road (A003), Colombo - Kandy Road (A001 Road), Kandy Jaffna Road (A009 Road), Ambepussa - Kurunagala - Trincomalee Road (A006 Road), Katugastota - Kurunagala - Puttalam Road (A010) and many other National Highways; and
  • Improvement of the social and economic condition of area and the reduction of poverty of the people.